Why I blog

Why do I blog?

I enjoy writing. I love writing. It has always been important to me. Lately though, since becoming a grown-up and having a serious career and serious commitments such as kids, and having serious things to do with my time, I lost touch with writing.

I had thought about blogging for several years but had never gotten around to it. To be totally honest, I didn’t do it because I didn’t think I had anything to say that anyone would be interested in reading. I finally took the plunge and started my blog in 2012 when I was on parental leave with my second child. At the time, I was also looking for a new job.

Looking for a new job while not employed is a real luxury (if it is by choice, of course). I had time to think about what was important to me. I had the space to explore new paths and new ideas. I did some volunteer work, went to conferences, did some courses, reached out to a wide network of new people, and learnt a lot in the process.

The time I had to reflect and explore helped me reconnect with my passions. Writing is one of those passions. I started my blog to exercise my writing muscle, to set myself some discipline, and to face my fear of not having an audience.

What has the journey been like? Well, I really enjoy writing my blog. I get a kick from researching the ideas I am writing about. I feel a great sense of achievement that I have commited to doing it. And I have discovered that I have an audience, which is exciting.  It is not a huge audience, but I get a few ‘likes’ here and there. I have some followers. I get the occassional positive comment. A few of my posts have even had hundreds of views. I think that is pretty awesome. What I have discovered is that having an audience is secondary for me to the pleasure of producing the writing. It is a bonus.

I have entered the Australian Writers Centre ‘Best Australian Blogs Competition 2013’. Why did I enter the competition?  Sure, it would be great to get an accolade. Who doesn’t like a bit of praise, an A on the report card? But I don’t expect to win anything.

Blogging, like other writing, is quite solitary. Joining the competition feels like being part of a blogging community. It is fun.

By starting my blog I was putting myself out into the digital wilderness, and I found my way. Entering the competition is another step in that journey. Who knows what I might learn.

If you would like to vote for my blog ‘hub & spoke’, vote here. Go on, you know you want to.

Leave a Reply

