The poetry of broken dreams

Reams of unpublished poems are tucked into the corners and cupboards of my house. They make surprisingly good insulation in the winter months. Occasionally they slip out from between the pages of books. Besides keeping me warm, I pay them little attention and we have agreed a mutual disregard for each other.

The other day, I was trawling through the wasteland of broken dreams (aka my Submittable rejections folder) for the purposes of self-flagellation and found a poem I wrote years ago. 

 I enjoyed it so I’m posting it here in honour of all the other poems that will never be read.



ebb & flow 

when night gathers and day closes

think of the stars

surrounding us

the movement

in the ebb and flow of oceans

the building of cities

present and past

the planet forever spinning

tectonic plates shifting

think of the stars

surrounding us

the movement

of exiles crossing borders

the razing of cities

present and past

the history books burning

spring always returning

think of the stars surrounding us

when night gathers and day closes

2 thoughts on “The poetry of broken dreams

Leave a Reply

